Love on The Rocks

Love. Some say it everyday, some find it really hard to deal with.

A friend of mine came to me and said that he fell in love with a girl he barely even know. They just got closer in the past few weeks. You know what I said? BLAAAH.

You cannot love other’s girlfriend, you cannot love ur crush, you just cannot love some girl who just enter your life and acting like you were meant to love. That feeling’s not gonna come to you in the middle of the night or during romantic dinner. it’s comfort, not love.

Loving is not a choice. If a girl marry a man who rich instead of man who play the keyboard in some unknown idealistic band, she doesn’t choose to love. She choose to be secure in her future with her financially secure children. So I asked, which man will you choose, a man who loves you or a man who u loved? Or neither?

In my perspective, love is a sacred word you can only say to a person whom u accepted for who she/he is in any kind of situation. Love doesn’t need a reason, doesn’t need requirements and doesn’t insist.

I find myself hard to love or be loved. I grew up trying to figure out why, got a lot of time think about it. The best explanation I got is I don’t have a real “relationship” with my dad. I accidentally found some articles about some research that a daughter-father relation is the most fundamental of a girl’s future relationship with other men. Father’s love is her first love she get and how it goes will affect her future love life. My dad passed away when I was 16 yo. And during those times I don’t think we’re that close. He was a busy man who travel a lot, so I guess me and him didn’t have much chances to bond. But I know I love him so much. No matter what happened I just did, and that’s what I call real ‘love’.

“So fathers be good to your daughters, daughters will love like you do. And girls become lovers, and turn into mothers, so mothers be good to your daughters too.”
Daughter-John Mayer

This post dedicated to my beloved father in heaven, Dedy Argiono. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

